At TCSI, we follow the Curriculum Guidance for the Early Years Foundation Stage framework, which is divided into seven areas of learning. Three are the prime areas which begin to develop quickly in response to relationships and experiences, and run through and support learning in all other areas. The prime areas continue to be fundamental throughout the EYFS.


Prime areas of learning:

  • Personal, Social and Emotional Development
  • Communication and Language
  • Physical Development


Specific areas of learning

The four specific areas include essential skills and knowledge. They grow out of the prime areas, and provide important contexts for learning:

  • Literacy
  • Mathematics
  • Understanding the world
  • Expressive arts and design